top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Brand it

Something that's been on my mind lately is the ability to sell by means of an artist's personal image. I understand that often to be able to sell work consistently the avenue of branding one's self tends to be a popular/ solid route. And what I'm about to say is coming straight from the mind of the artist, not a sales person. (While one can still be multifaceted in those ways...) Artists and creatives throughout history are notably the rebels and those who are misunderstood because of the other fantastic passions that drive them. These are the folks that grow beyond obsessed with their own skill and perfection as it is displayed in their own compulsive creation. So in the current culture, the one where we are constantly on display through virtual media the eye is not as focused on the art work but the presentation of the person behind it. Speaking personally, this is a completely mental practice. It has taken me a great long while to accept myself as just the way that I am: an often imperfect human characteristically and otherwise. For years I would always be secretly jealous of those who seemed to not have one hair out of place, those who seemed bright and confident with lovely tanned even skin tones etc,. My feelings were no one else's fault, the way other's looked or lived was not created in spite of me and I am sorry that I was not better to you simply because I was intimidated by you.

All that being said because making myself into a brand is just as intimidating. As if that self acceptance as 'just me' still wasn't good enough. These human parts of me are awkward and questioning so being streamlined in a certain manner feels as if that would be taken away. In that I would always have to be palatable to my audience. I understand that portraying my salty side or weird jokes that only I get is not doing me any favors. So my ability to advertise seems to be a two steps forward, one step back kinda pattern and I am okay with that for now. It doesn't mean things aren't moving forward. A long time ago I decided that I didn't want to know what it was going to look like, it being life: the continuation of how I grow and struggle.

By taking the unknown, it seems that I have chosen a sense of chaos again and again over a steady path. Chaos and life are inseparable regardless of one's life choices, I get that now and I am making efforts to simplify instead of taking on more commotion. If I develop into a brand as a result of my new found mental peace, then kudos to me. But as an artist and a rebel at heart: being told to portray myself a certain way in order to be well liked, successful and selling is completely against nature. Much of the Art we marvel at today was inspired by rough, perplexing circumstances or interactions in life. Which is the opposite of today's commercial compositions and artist image that is expected if one wants to make it.

bottom of page